Research & Studies

International KRAFT Conference – Sustainability aspects of regional and local development

“Sustainability aspects of regional and local development”

III. International KRAFT Conference – organized by IASK

Venue: Kőszeg, Jurisics Castle, Knight-Hall (Hungary)

Date: 29th of August, 2017



9:00-9:30 Registration

9:30-10:30 Opening of the Conference (chair: Gyula Zilahy)

Welcome speeches:

Ferenc Miszlivetz, director, iASK

Péter Ágh, member of the Hungarian Parliament

László Huber, mayor of Kőszeg

Innovative co-creation in Kőszeg: introduction to the ‘be-novative’ platform

10:30-12:30 Session 1: Business and sustainability (chair: Gyula Zilahy)

Lajos Szabó: KRAFT – from theory to practice

Rafael Sarda: Sustainability in the social-ecological paradigm

Gyula Zilahy: The roles of business in local and regional sustainable development

Rupert Baumgartner: Strategic perspectives of corporate sustainability management

Stefano Pogutz: Cultivating Ecological Knowledge for Corporate Sustainability: Barilla’s Innovative Approach to Sustainable Farming


12:30-12:45 Book launch


12:45-14:00 Lunch break


14:00-15:40 Session 2: Cultural heritage (chair: Lajos Szabó)

Mario Neve: The Region, the Network, and the Chinese Tailor. Regional Sustainability in the Time of Devolution

Rudolf Klein: Ethnic identity as an urban layer of cities in Austria-Hungary around 1900

Daniel EsGuevillas: Ecological Urbanism: Learning from Los Angeles, California

Hillary Brown: An Exemplary Town in its Bioregion: Oberlin, Ohio


15:40-16:00 Coffee break


16:00-17:40 Session 3: Networks for regional sustainability (chair: Lajos Szabó)

Ákos Jarjabka: The creation and plans of the PTE Diaspora Project Network

János Keresnyei: Forget heritage – How to find new stories in neglected buildings with creatives?

György Kukely: Sustainable transport development in Hungary – sustainability aspects in Hungarian transport policy

Ferenc Péter Pach – László Morzsa: EnviroMind: Citizen Environmental Monitoring with Big Data


17:40 Closing of the conference, results of the ‘be-innovative’ session


Invited speakers